Historical Overview

Human habitation of the Qatar Peninsula dates far back to nearly four thousand years BC, according to archaeological evidences, excavations, inscriptions and scarce potteries found in various areas of the country. 

In the 5th century BC, the Greek historian Herodotus referred that the first dwellers of Qatar were the Canaanite tribes, who were known for their navigation and naval commerce. Furthermore, the Greek geographer Ptolemy’s so-called Map of Arabia included as well what Ptolemy himself then called “Qatra”, which is thought to be a reference to the Zubara city, being previously one of the most important commercial ports in the Gulf area.

Qatar played a vital role as narrated by the Arab-Muslim historical sources. The Qatari dwellers involved themselves in preparing the first naval fleet to transport armies during the Muslim conquests. 

Under the Abbasid rule during the eighth Hijri century (14th AD), Qatar witnessed a period of economic prosperity as made evident by the written records found in the Maroub Fort on the western coast that represents the Abbasid architectural character.

Upon their military alliance with the Turks during the tenth Hijri century (16th AD), the Qataris could drive the Portuguese away, and that was the beginning of the rule of the Ottoman Empire over the whole Arabian Peninsula including Qatar for about four successive centuries.

The Turkish rule in the region, however, declined with the outbreak of the First World War in 1914 and a treaty was entered with Britain in 1916 providing for the protection of the Qatari lands and people. The British authority was restricted mostly to its supervision on some administrative affairs.

Qatar was ruled by the Al-Thani Dynasty, after its leader Thani bin Mohammad — father of Sheikh Mohammad bin Thani, who was the first sheikh later on to have an actual power over the Qatari Peninsula during the mid-nineteenth century.

Being a descendent of the Bani Tameem Tribe with their ancestral lineage dating back to Mudhar bin Nizar, the Al-Thanis settled on the Jibrin Oasis in the south of Nejd prior to their movement to the north of the Qatari Peninsula. Then, they moved to Doha in the mid nineteenth century under the leadership of Sheikh Mohammad bin Thani.

Under the Abbasid rule during the eighth Hijri century (14th AD), Qatar witnessed a period of economic prosperity as made evident by the written records found in the Maroub Fort on the western coast that represents the Abbasid architectural character.

Upon their military alliance with the Turks during the tenth Hijri century (16th AD), the Qataris could drive the Portuguese away, and that was the beginning of the rule of the Ottoman Empire over the whole Arabian Peninsula including Qatar for about four successive centuries.

The Turkish rule in the region, however, declined with the outbreak of the First World War in 1914 and a treaty was entered with Britain in 1916 providing for the protection of the Qatari lands and people. The British authority was restricted mostly to its supervision on some administrative affairs.

Qatar was ruled by the Al-Thani Dynasty, after its leader Thani bin Mohammad — father of Sheikh Mohammad bin Thani, who was the first sheikh later on to have an actual power over the Qatari Peninsula during the mid-nineteenth century.

Being a descendent of the Bani Tameem Tribe with their ancestral lineage dating back to Mudhar bin Nizar, the Al-Thanis settled on the Jibrin Oasis in the south of Nejd prior to their movement to the north of the Qatari Peninsula. Then, they moved to Doha in the mid nineteenth century under the leadership of Sheikh Mohammad bin Thani.

Qatar's Rulers

Sheikh Mohammed Bin Thani (1851 – 1878)

Sheikh Mohammed Bin Thani is the first Ruler of Qatar and one of its eminent leaders. He united the Qatari tribes and the country in a difficult stage, and was known of wisdom, far-sightedness and love of literature and poetry.

Sheikh Jassim Bin Mohammed Bin Thani (1878 – 1913)

Sheikh Jassim Bin Mohammed Bin Thani is The founder of the State of Qatar. A military leader, judge and scholar, knight and poet possessing both gallantry and magnanimity. For the sake of defending Qatar he fought many wars, and perils could not impede his inclination to defy hardships, end injustice and protect the oppressed.

Sheikh Abdullah Bin Jassim Al Thani (1913 – 1949)

Sheikh Abdullah Bin Jassim Al Thani is the third Ruler of the State of Qatar. He was known for his piety, righteousness and vast knowledge. During his tenure the first oil well was drilled in the country. He proved himself as a shrewd and gifted negotiator during the negotiations with oil companies. He was a far-sighted statesman.

Sheikh Ali Bin Abdullah Al Thani (1949 – 1960)

Sheikh Ali Bin Abdullah Al Thani is the fourth Ruler of the State of Qatar. He was known by  solemnity wisdom, forbearance, pursuance of a path of conciliation and consolidation of common word, the high moral character, high  personal traits and noble qualities. During his tenure the country exported the first oil shipment, marking the actual entry into the oil age, and a new period of social and economic development.

Sheikh Ahmad Bin Ali Al Thani (1960 – 1972)

The Fifth Ruler of Qatar and the first Ruler to bear the title "Amir". He was noted for his solemnity, wisdom and careful discretion in tackling issues. He followed a path of conciliation and consolidation of common word, during his reign the Shura (advisory) Council was formed and the first interim basic law was promulgated.

Sheikh Khalifa Bin Hamad Al Thani (1972 – 1995 )

Sheikh Khalifa Bin Hamad Al Thani is the Sixth Ruler of the State of Qatar. His reign had seen many achievements such as the re-organization of the government, the Interim Basic law was amended, the country concluded a number of agreements to extract and market oil, schools and colleges were set up and the first university in the country was established.

HH The Father Amir Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani (1995 – 2013)

Former Amir of the State of Qatar, one of its iconic leaders, and the architect of its modern revival. During his reign, which witnessed massive economic, social and cultural development, the State of Qatar extended its status among the Arab and international community. The  GDP increased by more than 24 folds, and per capita GDP by about six folds, while gross value added in the hydrocarbon sector jumped from 11 billion to 403 billion Qatari Riyals.

During his tenure the country’s permanent constitution was promulgated, and “Qatar National Vision 2030”, which seeks to promote a drive towards a knowledge-based economy, and transform Qatar into an advanced country capable of achieving sustainable development and ensuring the continuation of a decent life for its people, generation after generation, was framed.

On 25 June 2013, His Highness Sheikh Hamad handed over the reins of leadership to his Heir Apparent Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad.

نبذة تاريخية

دلت الاكتشافات الأثرية والحفريات والنقوش ومجموعات من القطع الفخارية النادرة التي تم العثور عليها في مناطق متفرقة من البلاد على أن أرض قطر كانت مأهولة منذ الألف الرابعة قبل الميلاد.

وذكر المؤرخ اليوناني هيرودوتس في القرن الخامس قبل الميلاد، أن أول من سكن قطر هم القبائل الكنعانية التي اشتهرت بفنون الملاحة والتجارة البحرية، كما أن عالم الجغرافيا الإغريقي بطليموس ضمّن خريطته المسماة (بلاد العرب) ما أسماه (قطرا) وهو ما يعتقد أنه إشارة إلى شهرة مدينة "الزبارة" القطرية التي كانت قديماً بين أهم الموانئ التجارية في منطقة الخليج.

و كما تروي مصادر التاريخ العربي الإسلامي لعبت قطر دوراً مهماً عندما شارك سكانها في تجهيز أول أسطول بحري لنقل الجيوش خلال الفتوحات الإسلامية.

وشهدت قطر مرحلة من الرخاء الاقتصادي في ظل الدولة العباسية، إبان القرن الثامن الهجري (الرابع عشر الميلادي) ويستدل على ذلك من المدونات المكتوبة في قلعة (مروب) الموجودة على الساحل الغربي والتي تمثل الطابع المعماري العباسي.

و في القرن العاشر الهجري (السادس عشر للميلاد) تحالف القطريون والأتراك لطرد البرتغاليين، ثم خضعت كل المناطق في الجزيرة العربية بما في ذلك قطر لحكم الإمبراطورية العثمانية واستمر ذلك لحوالي أربعة قرون متوالية.

أدى نشوب الحرب العالمية الأولى في عام 1914 وما تمخض عنها من نتائج إلى زوال الحكم التركي عن البلاد  ووقعت قطر معاهدة مع بريطانيا عام 1916 نصت على حماية أراضي قطر ورعاياها حيث كان النفوذ البريطاني في البلاد لا يتجاوز الإشراف على بعض الجوانب الإدارية.

حكمت قطر أسرة آل ثاني التي أخذت اسمها من عميدها ثاني بن محمد والد الشيخ محمد بن ثاني، الذي كان أول شيخ مارس سلطته الفعلية في شبه الجزيرة القطرية خلال منتصف القرن التاسع عشر.

وكانت أسرة آل ثاني قد استقرت حول واحة "جبرين" في جنوبي نجد، قبل ارتحالها إلى قطر في أوائل القرن الثامن عشر وهي فرع من قبيلة بني تميم، التي يعود نسبها إلى مضر بن نزار، وقد استقرت بادئ الأمر في شمال شبه الجزيرة القطرية، ثم انتقلت إلى الدوحة في منتصف القرن التاسع عشر بزعامة الشيخ محمد بن ثاني.

حكام قطر

الشيخ محمد بن ثاني (1851- 1878)

أول حاكم لقطر وأحد أبرز قادتها التاريخيين. استطاع أن يؤلف بين القبائل القطرية وأن يوحد البلاد في مرحلة بالغة التعقيد، وقد اشتهر بالحصافة وبعد النظر، وحب الأدب والشعر.

الشيخ جاسم بن محمد آل ثاني (1878 – 1913)

مؤسس قطر وبانيها، كان قائدا عسكريا وقاضياً مفتياً، كما كان فارسا شاعرا، وصاحب نخوة وشهامة. خاض حروبا عديدة للدفاع عن قطر، ولم تثنه المخاطر عن اقتحام الصعاب وردع الظلم وإجارة المظلوم.

 

الشيخ عبد الله بن جاسم آل ثاني (1913 - 1949)

الحاكم الثالث لدولة قطر، عرف بالتدين والاستقامة وسعة المعرفة. وقد حفرت أول بئر للبترول في قطر في عهده وأثبت خلال مفاوضاته مع شركات النفط أنه مفاوض بارع ورجل دولة نافذ البصيرة بعيد النظر.

 

الشيخ علي بن عبد الله آل ثاني (1949 – 1960)

الحاكم الرابع لقطر، جمع بين الحكمة في إدارة أمور البلاد وبين التواضع والحلم وحب الإحسان وفعل الخير، وقد أجمع معاصروه على سمّو صفاته الشخصية وعلى نبل شمائله وأخلاقه. وفي عهده دخلت قطر فعلياً عصر النفط بتصدير أول شحنة منه، ودخلت البلاد مرحلة جديدة من التطور الاقتصادي والاجتماعي.

 

الشيخ أحمد بن علي آل ثاني (1960 – 1972)

الحاكم الخامس لدولة قطر وأول من حمل لقب أمير قطر. عرف بالمهابة والحكمة، والتأني في معالجة الأمور، والسعي إلى التوافق وجمع الكلمة. في عهده أنشئ مجلس للشورى، وصدر أول نظام أساسي مؤقت للحكم في البلاد.

 

الشيخ خليفة بن حمد آل ثاني (1972 – 1995)

الحاكم السادس لدولة قطر، شهد عهده العديد من الإنجازات؛ فأُعيد تنظيم الحكومة وعُدّل النظام الأساسي المؤقت، وأبرمت الدولة عددا من الاتفاقيات لاستخراج النفط وتسويقه، وأقيمت المدارس والمعاهد وأنشئت أول جامعة في البلاد.

 

صاحب السمو الأمير الوالد الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني (1995 – 2013)

أمير دولة قطر السابق، وأحد قادتها التاريخيين، وباني نهضتها الحديثة، تبوأت في عهده مقاما عاليا عربيا ودوليا، وانطلقت فيها نهضة اقتصادية واجتماعية وثقافية واسعة، وتضاعف الناتج الإجمالي المحلي أكثر من 24 مرة، وارتفع الناتج المحلي للفرد بنحو ست مرات، وقفزت القيمة المضافة الإجمالية في قطاع الهيدروكربون من 11 مليارا إلى 403 مليارات ريال قطري.

خلال حكمه صدر الدستور الدائم للبلاد، ووُضعت "رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030" الساعية لتعزيز الارتقاء إلى الاقتصاد المعرفي، وتحويل قطر إلى دولة متقدمة قادرة على تحقيق التنمية المستدامة وعلى تأمين استمرار العيش الكريم لشعبها جيلا بعد جيل.

أعلن سموه يوم 25 يونيو 2013 تسليم مقاليد الحكم لولي عهده سمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني.